By DANICA B. GUINTO                NOVEMBER 7, 2014


The team utilized the posters in their hand to introduce themselves and explain their intention to the barangay officials.

In line with the recent Presidential Directive and NDRRMC resolutions following several landslides and flooding incidents in CALABARZON Region, and the need to fast track the geohazard mapping program of the Philippines, the Mines and Geosciences Bureau (MGB) Region IVA- CALABARZON had deployed a Geohazard Team to assess three (3) municipalities in the Province of Quezon, namely Padre Burgos, Unisan and Catanauan. The Geohazard team is composed of seven (7) technical personnel, namely Soccoro P. Hernandez, Romali S. Umali, Fidel R. Zepeda, Perlito A. Angeles, Maria Celi V. Kennedy, Danica B. Guinto, and Gerald Perez de Tagle had conducted geohazard mapping and assessment of the said municipalities. Starting September 24, 2014 and lasted until October 10, 2014.


Along with the assessment, the team also distributed informative posters about flooding and landslide to the LGUs and academic bodies to further magnify the dissemination of information. Corresponding to the assessment was the Information Education and Communication (IEC) Campaign that enabled the team to lecture about geohazards and the importance of the use of geohazard maps. Incorporated to the IEC campaign was a brief report of the results of their assessment and open forum to let the audience ask questions and for the team to feedback pertaining to their findings.



Members of the team giving out posters as they introduce themselves to the barangay officials

The first municipality assessed was Padre Burgos, composed of twenty-two (22) barangays followed by the Municipality of Unisan with thirty-six (36) barangays and lastly the remaining twenty-four (24) barangays of the Municipality of Catanauan.

Last October 14, 2014, a new set of team was organized to assess three (3) municipalities residing in one of the islands on the eastern seaboard of Southern Luzon, the Alabat Island. The municipalities are Alabat, Perez and Quezon which are part of Quezon Province. The team was composed of seven (7) technical personnel namely, Socorro P. Hernandez, Romali S. Umali, Fidel R. Zepeda, Perlito A. Angeles, Danica B. Guinto, Dick G. Bacuño, and Gerald Perez de Tagle. The field continued until the first of November, 2014.


Members of the team walked along the shoreline to reach Barangay Sabang, an isolated barangay in Quezon, Quezon.

The Municipality of Alabat was assessed first which is composed of nineteen (19) barangays. The next municipality was Quezon with twenty-four (24) barangays and finally the Municipality of Perez comprising fourteen (14) barangays.

As part of the program the team distributed posters to academe and LGUs and conducted IEC to the barangay and municipal officials. The team had also given an exit conference report for each one of the three (3) municipalities. The report contained results of the assessment conducted in their respective municipalities.

As the assessment of the whole CALABARZON Region was concluded, the Geohazard Maps with 1:10 000 scale is now a work in progress and is expected to be finished by the end of 2014.